🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How can we use own cpp game engine in C#?

Started by
4 comments, last by Shaarigan 4 years, 7 months ago

I'm currently making a game engine in CPP with DirectX 11 and planning to make a game tool like the unity in C# WPF.

I'm really wonder how can we access the objects of own gameengine if we cannot use pointer in C#?

I have made a couple of C# applications with WPF and have done plotting DirectX screen on C# application via C++/C# CLR(CLI) (sorry I don't know official correct name).

Anyway now I have more than 20 objects that need to be accessed outside of engine and they are all in pointer of course. Does anyone know how to access them? Please note I'm not good at CLR(CLI) syntax.

Advertisement

You are probably looking for P/Invoke:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/standard/native-interop/pinvoke

For a more complete answer: you can use .NET/CLI as the lowest level bridge between C++ and .NET. It has some advantages to be able to interact with the Cpp code in a more convinient way but you need to take attention to the GC and it is Windows only since Mono dosen't support it.

The alternative is a cross-language layer or the so-called p/Invoke. You write your code in full featured C# and declare every function you want to use from your engine in C#. The CLR then lazy binds those functions at runtime if they are used for the first time. The disadvantage of this is however that you have to take attention how your function is defined in Cpp, parameter types, calling convention etc. because the CLR dosen't help you here or provide usefull information if something fails.