Advertisement

Set me straight on this please...

Started by June 04, 2001 12:47 PM
1 comment, last by newmexico 23 years, 2 months ago
I am new to game programming, and am a bit confused on the use of tools for making graphics. Can someone please explain the relationship between tools such as Truespace or 3ds max and game graphics? I have read "Tips of windows game programming gurus" and "3d game programming with c++". And the impression I got from the DirectDraw/Direct3d sections was that you (the programmer) are meant to write code for creating objects and lighting, etc.. Where, if anywhere, do these 3d tools come in? Thank you
newmexico, let''s try to set you straight.

A modeler like 3d Studio, Maya, or Truespace provides an interactive environment to model 3d objects. Using such an application, you would then save these objects to a file using some type of format such as .OBJ or some other format.

A compiler takes source code, for example, C or C++ and produces machine code which can be executed as a program on a computer.

A renderer, usually included in packages such as 3d Studio, Maya, etc. will take the data structures defining 3d objects and given information on light sources, etc. will create a picture for you from some given vanatage point. However, a game program will in general need to use its own rendering system to render the frames presented to the game player. Such a rendering system would load the 3d objects that someone probably created in a program like 3d Studio.

To code a realtime renderer, you would likely use C or C++, and an 3d graphics API such as OpenGL or Direct3D. An API like OpenGL is a library of prebuilt functions which will handle a lot of the lowlevel 3d functionality and utilize the graphics hardware onboard your computer. You would link your code to the API library.