Advertisement

The current state of sh*t

Started by May 16, 2000 01:43 AM
7 comments, last by the prima donna 24 years, 4 months ago
What determines the sucsess of a game? It is a broad subject, however I decided to express my thoughts and opinions about the curent state of games. I started playing along time ago. My first mager addiction to computer games came from Space Quest 1 and 2, and later followed by some famous as well as underdog games, like "Betrayal at Krondor", "Realms of Arkania", "Mokey Island", "Doom" and many, many more. For the last 3 years I''v been heavily into online rpgs'' (Ultima Online, Everquest and Asherons Call). Ultima Online was great and kept me for nearly 2+ years, Everquest, in my opinion, was a waiste of space and didnt take me more than 2 weeks to cancle my account. Asherons Call is a fun game, yet after 4 mounths + beta, I no longer have a desire to play. So recently I went and got a tons of games that came out recently as well as some of the big titles of the last few years. My view on the games of today. Crap! I deleted most everything within an hour of instalation. Has it become so damn important to have spiffy graphics and 3d dolby sound, than the game designers completly forgot about the plot, storyline, simple easy to understand interface? I sertainly don''t want to configure 50 or so keys for each action! 99% of all today games are clones of another. Have we become so sterile, than we cannot think of a unique storyline or a different concept? Lets examine some good and bad games since 1995. Follout - an rpg set in the post apocaliptic future. Great game, alot fun. I am sure many of you played it. Follout 2 - comes out about 2 years later, but apart from a different charecter names everything remains the same. (the hero has to go save a villiga, only to uncover a big bad men trying to distroy the world = Follout 1) Warcraft 1 & 2 - both grate games. Unlike Follout, Warcraft 2 offered not only a different storyline, charecter